Capcom is gearing up for Monster Hunter World’s January 26th launch with a worldwide open beta. Set to take place this coming weekend from Saturday, December 9th, the Monster Hunter World open beta is a PlayStation 4 exclusive for now.

If you’ve got an Xbox One, well, you’re out of luck. For whatever reason, betas are now platform exclusives now, and the MonHun World beta is scheduled to go live during Sony’s upcoming PlayStation Experience 2017 event.

Should you have a PS4, the beta runs from December 9, 2017 at 9:00am PT / 5:00pm GMT / 6:00pm CET through to December 12, 2017 at 8:59am PT / 4:59pm GMT / 5:59pm CET. The system requirements for Monster Hunter World beta are “Internet connection, PlayStation 4, PlayStation Plus subscription, 5.9 GB of free space, hunting spirit.” Remember, never go anywhere with a supply of hunting spirit.

The beta test will feature two open-world environments and three quests from the game. In the Ancient Forest, beginners can tackle the Great Jagras, while advanced players can attempt to take on the Anjanath. There’s an intermediate-tier hunt to be found in the swamplands of the Wildspire Waste though, where the mid-slinging Barroth is waiting to be battled. If Monster Hunter World is anything like previous Monster Hunter games, newbies wandering for a session with the Anjanath are going to absolutely flattened, so good luck with that.

Monster Hunter World’s open beta is playable solo or in co-op with up to three other players. All 14 weapon types are available to choose from so there’s plenty to get busy with over the weekend.

As for PC fans - Monster Hunter World is coming out at a later date for PC than consoles. A PC beta hasn’t been ruled out yet, but we probably won’t hear anything more about it for a while.

Who’s going to give the MHW open beta a shot? What’s your thought on platform exclusive beta tests? Let us know!