We’ve stocked up on rum, snagged a parrot from the pet shop, and hacked off a leg, replaced with a wooden banister we found in a skip. We’re ship shape and Bristol fashion, in other words, and ready to sail. The Sea of Thieves closed beta test is taking place later this month, ironing out the final wrinkles (winkles?) as we barrel towards the March 20th release date.

Rare has said you’ll need to have signed up to the Sea of Thieves Insider Programme before December 1st, 2017 in order to nab yourself an invite, or you can go the expensive route and pre-order the game.

The Sea of Thieves closed beta will start on 24 January at 5AM PST / 7AM EST / 12PM GMT and run through until Monday 29 January. That’s five full days of sea shantying, grog-swilling and treasure hunting.

Rare has said it’s putting together a bespoke experience for Closed Beta players that won’t be found in the full game. Their reason for this is they want to keep a lot of Sea of Thieves’ goodies secret so players can discover it all for the first time at launch.

Did anyone have the foresight to sign up to the Sea of Thieves Insider Program in time? Are you prepared to pre-order to see what the fuss is all about? Let us know!