Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K review, including today's price to performance

Laptop product code: Blade 17 Pro 2019 RZ09-03148E13-R3U1

Laptop announced date: 15th October 2019

Last reviewed: 10th August 2021

P2P score 50
Futureproof High/Ultra 2 Years 10 Months Low/Medium 6 Years 2 Months
Gaming Laptop? Excellent

If you are looking to buy a new gaming laptop and want to know how well the Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K compares to other laptops on offer then you have come to the right place. Today we are going to explore the type of performance return we can expect from this mobile gaming solution by comparing it to today’s demanding games

Compare Any Laptop

Gaming Laptop Analysis

Is the Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K good as a gaming laptop? Excellent

Processor - This processor is an excellent 2022 hardware component for running modern AAA games. This CPU comes with 6 cores, which is excellent providing it extra resource to chew through game processing when required.

Graphics Card - A GeForce RTX 2080 Max-Q graphics card that is housed in this laptop is excellent for modern AAA gaming during 2022. The 8GB that this graphics solution has is excellent for all modern gaming.

System Memory - A laptop with 16GB of system memory, like this laptop, makes it an excellent amount of RAM for the AAA gaming needs of 2022 and into the future.

Screen Size - The 17.3" panel found in this laptop we would consider an excellent size for modern 2022 AAA games, and the sort of screen size more serious gamers would be looking for.

Refresh Rate - Look for higher refresh rate hertz for a gaming laptop. Ideally around 120Hz or more refresh rate on a gaming laptop screen. The laptop can only deliver FPS(frames per second) up to the listed refresh rate. So if you have hardware in your laptop that can turn out awesome frame rates on all the latest AAA titles, but a 60hz refresh rate, your laptop will be stuck at a maximum of 60FPS in all games. With the 120Hz laptop screen available on this laptop this would make for a good refresh rate and a good gaming laptop screen.

GeForce RTX 2080 Max-Q graphics card gaming performance in the Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K laptop

Getting the right graphics card for this mobile gaming machine will be one of our key focuses. As we know it can be tricky to break this down, but we will be looking at how this laptop hardware can run across demanding and popular modern games and therefore how well the price of the machine stacks up against other gaming laptops. A few of the modern demanding or popular games we will be looking at will be, Grand Theft Auto VI, Star Citizen and Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 (2022). Seeing how these games run on the laptops native 4K resolution at ultra will certainly give us something tangible to consider and compare from. A first point of reference is seeing how many the mobile gpu, a GeForce RTX 2080 Max-Q found in this laptop, can run of today's 500 most demanding games. In particular it would seem that it can currently run 410 at recommended graphics requirements and then 495 games at their min specs.

Grand Theft Auto VI FPS Low to Ultra 1080p Graphics Settings Results Graph

Premium Feature

Laptop Research Area

Other Popular Games

Comparing Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K to today’s best price to performance laptop ranges

As you have probably discovered during your research into buying your next gaming laptop, getting an up-to-date value assessment that enables you to compare a laptop’s hardware performance against today’s games is tricky. And especially so, when we factor in all variations of hardware and prices that the Blade 17 Pro 2019 comes with. What we have done in this Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K laptop review is give a price to performance rating to help standardise our comparisons.

Our price and performance review leads us to allocate all laptops a P2P rating out of 10, which is relative to all laptops for comparison purposes and gets adjusted over time as the prices for hardware adjust and new more capable hardware is created. This laptop is currently given a 5.2 for P2P out of 10. Here we look at how our version of this Blade 17 Pro 2019 laptop compares against the other laptops in the range. This laptop is currently 4th in this range for hardware value. Laptops closer to the 1st position of the model range represent the better gaming performance bang for your buck.

Show Laptop Specifications

Processor Core i7-9750H 6-Core 2.6GHz
Graphics Card GeForce RTX 2080 Max-Q
RAM 16GB DDR4 2933MHz
Screen 17.3 " 3840x2160 (4K)
Available refresh rates: 120Hz
Storage 1.0TB M.2
Ports
  • 3x USB 3.2 Gen 2
  • 1x USB-C 3.2 Gen 2
  • 1x Thunderbolt 3
  • 1x SD
  • Ethernet 2500

Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K model range price to performance comparison table

Laptop Name Price P2P Difference
i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 512GB M.2 $2,230.00 70 34%
i7-9750H RTX 2060 Mobile 16GB RAM 512GB M.2 $2,499.97 60 13%
i7-9750H RTX 2070 Max-Q 16GB RAM 512GB M.2 $2,629.99 50 9%
i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K $2,989.11 50 0%

We will now check against leading Price 2 Performance laptops outside of this model range to see how the Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K compares. Looking at the best gaming laptop on price to performance, our laptop has 213% worse rating between its price to performance rating and today's best valued laptop, which is the ASUS TUF A15 R7 4800H GTX 1660 Ti 16GB RAM 512GB M.2 that is currently priced at $999. How about we also look at the 2nd ranked laptop for excellent Price/Performance ratings, which is the MSI Bravo 15 R7 4800H RX 5500M 16GB RAM 512GB M.2 and has a recorded cost of $1049. We see our Blade 17 Pro 2019 laptop scores 173% worse against it for price to performance.

How does the Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K laptop compare to the best CPU performance focused laptops and today’s most popular games?

Now we will see if our laptop compares favourably against the top CPU performance focused mobile PC that is currently available. The CPU performance laptop we picked today is the ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 R9 4900HS RTX 2060 Mobile 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2. Its processor is the Ryzen 9 4900HS 8-Core 3.0GHz which delivers 43% better performance when stacked against our own review laptop’s Core i7-9750H 6-Core 2.6GHz.

Our laptop CPU beats 416 games recommended system requirements when looking at today’s top 500 most demanding games. This number changes to 497 games if we compare to the top 500 most demanding games for minimum system requirements.

When compared to the most popular games around today, against their recommended processor requirements, our laptop CPU performs as follows - Grand Theft Auto VI our laptop CPU is 3% better and then looking at Star Citizen our laptop CPU is 13% worse and finally compared to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 (2022) it has a performance difference : 3% better.

How does the Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K laptop compare to the best graphics card performance focused laptops and today’s most popular games?

Now lets see how well our review laptop holds up compared against graphical performance with the top performing GPU laptop available today. A good laptop to compare against, that is GPU focused, would be the MSI GT76 Titan i9-10900K RTX 2080 Super 64GB RAM 2.0TB M.2 4K. This showcases one of the laptops for the current cheapest price, while still housing one of the most powerful laptop GPUs. It comes with a GeForce RTX 2080 Super 8GB graphics card slotted inside it, which can deliver 36% better performance when compared to our GPU, GeForce RTX 2080 Max-Q from our review laptop.

Our laptop’s GPU can currently run 410 of today’s top 500 demanding games meeting their recommended Graphics Card requirements. This figure is 495 for the top 500 minimum requirement games that can be run by the GeForce RTX 2080 Max-Q.

When compared to the most popular games around today, against their recommended graphics requirements, our laptop graphics card performs as follows - Grand Theft Auto VI our laptop video card is 4% worse and then looking at Star Citizen our laptop GPU is 53% better and finally compared to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 (2022) it has a performance difference : 4% worse.

Today's Best Priced Mouse and Headset for Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K laptop

You could pick up a mouse to go with the Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K. In our spotlight at the moment is the Kayinuo M738 Gaming Mouse 3200DPI wired 6 Buttons, which today is $12.99. This mouse has also dropped its price by $32.26 during the past two weeks, which is a solid reason for us to select it with this laptop. Another point of interest was that we saw this mouse priced at $11.99, which we tracked on 15th Aug 2020.

Quality Mouse Price (USD) Check Regional Pricing
** IBats X8 gray 9 Btns $12.99
** PICTEK Gaming Mouse 7200DPI wired 7 Buttons $13.99
*** Cooler Master MM710 $42.99
*** Razer DeathAdder Elite $49.29

Of our price tracked headsets, the gaming headset that catches our eye today, to go well with the Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K laptop, is the Corsair HS45-7.1 Surround. Today this headset is priced at $36.99. For reference, the lowest price recorded by us so far for the headset is $34.99 on 28th Nov 2019.

Quality Headset Price (USD) Check Regional Pricing
** Corsair HS45-7.1 Surround $36.99
** HyperX Cloud Stinger $41.99
*** Logitech G635 7.1 $86.11
*** SteelSeries Arctis 5 Surround 7.1 $87.50
Can the Razer Blade 17 Pro 2019 i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K run any game?

How well can the i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K run these popular games?

Grand Theft Auto V

Can this laptop run Grand Theft Auto V?
The laptop can run Grand Theft Auto V minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 165
H:111
U: 79
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Tom Clancys Ghost Recon Wildlands

Can this laptop run Tom Clancys Ghost Recon Wildlands?
The laptop can run Tom Clancys Ghost Recon Wildlands minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 178
M: 140
H:95
U: 68
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Borderlands

Can this laptop run Borderlands?
The laptop can run Borderlands minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Call of Duty: WWII

Can this laptop run Call of Duty: WWII?
The laptop can run Call of Duty: WWII minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 178
M: 140
H:95
U: 68
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

Can this laptop run Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare?
The laptop can run Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Minecraft

Can this laptop run Minecraft?
The laptop can run Minecraft minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Assassins Creed: Odyssey

Can this laptop run Assassins Creed: Odyssey?
The laptop can run Assassins Creed: Odyssey minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 104
M: 89
H:77
U: 52
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Arma II: DayZ Mod

Can this laptop run Arma II: DayZ Mod?
The laptop can run Arma II: DayZ Mod minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Call of Duty: Ghosts

Can this laptop run Call of Duty: Ghosts?
The laptop can run Call of Duty: Ghosts minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:188
U: 134
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Assassins Creed: Origins

Can this laptop run Assassins Creed: Origins?
The laptop can run Assassins Creed: Origins minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:179
U: 128
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Assassins Creed: Valhalla

Can this laptop run Assassins Creed: Valhalla?
The laptop can run Assassins Creed: Valhalla minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 92
M: 78
H:68
U: 46
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

League of Legends

Can this laptop run League of Legends?
The laptop can run League of Legends minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Call of Duty: Black Ops 3

Can this laptop run Call of Duty: Black Ops 3?
The laptop can run Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:169
U: 121
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Cyberpunk 2077

Can this laptop run Cyberpunk 2077?
The laptop can run Cyberpunk 2077 minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 178
M: 140
H:95
U: 68
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare

Can this laptop run Call of Duty: Modern Warfare?
The laptop can run Call of Duty: Modern Warfare minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 166
M: 131
H:88
U: 63
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Need for Speed: The Run

Can this laptop run Need for Speed: The Run?
The laptop can run Need for Speed: The Run minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Watch Dogs 2

Can this laptop run Watch Dogs 2?
The laptop can run Watch Dogs 2 minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 183
H:123
U: 88
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

FIFA 17

Can this laptop run FIFA 17?
The laptop can run FIFA 17 minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Red Dead Redemption 2

Can this laptop run Red Dead Redemption 2?
The laptop can run Red Dead Redemption 2 minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 166
M: 130
H:88
U: 63
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Wolfenstein: The New Order

Can this laptop run Wolfenstein: The New Order?
The laptop can run Wolfenstein: The New Order minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Assassins Creed: Rogue

Can this laptop run Assassins Creed: Rogue?
The laptop can run Assassins Creed: Rogue minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 196
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Forza Horizon 3

Can this laptop run Forza Horizon 3?
The laptop can run Forza Horizon 3 minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 178
M: 140
H:95
U: 68
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Shogun 2: Total War

Can this laptop run Shogun 2: Total War?
The laptop can run Shogun 2: Total War minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

World of Tanks

Can this laptop run World of Tanks?
The laptop can run World of Tanks minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 156
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Middle-earth: Shadow of War

Can this laptop run Middle-earth: Shadow of War?
The laptop can run Middle-earth: Shadow of War minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 178
M: 140
H:95
U: 68
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Dishonored II

Can this laptop run Dishonored II?
The laptop can run Dishonored II minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 178
M: 140
H:95
U: 68
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

Can this laptop run Counter-Strike: Global Offensive?
The laptop can run Counter-Strike: Global Offensive minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Battlefield V

Can this laptop run Battlefield V?
The laptop can run Battlefield V minimum system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:137
U: 98
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Portal 2

Can this laptop run Portal 2?
The laptop can run Portal 2 minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Just Survive

Can this laptop run Just Survive?
The laptop can run Just Survive minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare

Can this laptop run Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare?
The laptop can run Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:145
U: 104
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Grand Theft Auto IV

Can this laptop run Grand Theft Auto IV?
The laptop can run Grand Theft Auto IV minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

ARK: Survival Evolved

Can this laptop run ARK: Survival Evolved?
The laptop can run ARK: Survival Evolved minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:145
U: 104
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Star Wars: The Old Republic

Can this laptop run Star Wars: The Old Republic?
The laptop can run Star Wars: The Old Republic minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Alan Wake

Can this laptop run Alan Wake?
The laptop can run Alan Wake minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Battlefield 1

Can this laptop run Battlefield 1?
The laptop can run Battlefield 1 minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 178
M: 140
H:95
U: 68
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Assassins Creed

Can this laptop run Assassins Creed?
The laptop can run Assassins Creed minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Special Edition

Can this laptop run The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Special Edition?
The laptop can run The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Special Edition minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 183
H:123
U: 88
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

Can this laptop run Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas?
The laptop can run Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 200
M: 200
H:200
U: 200
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

Mass Effect Andromeda

Can this laptop run Mass Effect Andromeda?
The laptop can run Mass Effect Andromeda minimum and recommended system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 197
M: 155
H:104
U: 75
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended

How well do we think the i7-9750H RTX 2080 Max-Q 16GB RAM 1.0TB M.2 4K can run these upcoming popular games?

Hogwarts Legacy

Could this laptop run Hogwarts Legacy?
The laptop can run Hogwarts Legacy minimum system requirements
FPS (1080p)
L: 102
M: 80
H:54
U: 39
Test Report
Minimum
Recommended