Ubisoft continues to be hitting all the right notes with Rainbow Six Siege, announcing all of the squad-based online shooter’s additional maps will be available free of charge. Rainbow Six Siege will be launching with a total of 11 maps right out of the box, but any additional maps released as downloadable content will arrive as free updates.

The thinking behind it is twofold - Ubisoft doesn’t want to fragment the player base, as happens when releasing paid-for map packs, while it also hopes regular map updates will encourage players to stick with Rainbow Six: Siege for the long haul. That all sounds sensible enough, provided we don’t get an Evolve situation with stacks of other DLC such as exclusive characters and weapons layered on top. That game's extensive DLC plans essentially killed it right out the gate.

"At launch, Rainbow Six Siege will have 11 maps, playable both day or night, all using the full potential of our Real Blast destruction technology. In addition, all post-launch maps will be downloadable for free,” wrote Ubisoft in a statement.

"We want players to stay with us for the long term and have ambitious post-launch plans that we will detail at a later stage."

Rainbow Six: Siege is out on December 1st for PC, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. There’s also a closed beta test running from 24th September. If you want entry to that then the easiest way is to grab a key from Nvidia which is giving them away, regardless of what hardware you’ve got chugging away in your gaming rig. I’ve done it already and got sent a code instantly, so just head here to do that.