In terms of the announcements that could put in a spanner in the works, Hideo Kojima confirming Death Stranding won’t be there probably ranks right near the top. That’s exactly the case though, with Kojima Productions confirming the team is busy with development and presumably, doesn’t want to waste the significant time and resources necessary to put on an E3 presentation. 

“Apologies to our fans, Death Stranding will not be @ E3 as we are fully focused on development,” said Kojima in a tweet, quashing our dreams in one fell swoop. His message was joined by a piece of new artwork, however, showing a complex spider web with the word “BRIDGES” written underneath. What it means is anybody’s guess, but as with anything Kojima, it’s enough to get confounded fans puzzling over what it could mean.

The general thinking behind E3 2017 was that Death Stranding would have been making an appearance during Sony’s live press conference. Sony has funded development of Kojima’s next project, which is coming to PlayStation 4 and, potentially at a later date, PC. 

Despite the Death Stranding no-show, Kojima won’t be totally absent from E3. He will be joining Geoff Keighley and Jordan Vogt-Roberts, director of Kong: Skull Island, to discuss the film adaptation of the Metal Gear Solid series which is in the works. 

Another bites the dust then, but we expect there to be plenty of other exciting gaming announcements over the coming week. E3 2017’s live conferences kick off this Saturday, June 11 at 12PM Noon PT / 3PM ET / 8PM BST, and runs on throughout the rest of the week.