Death Stranding’s presence at The Game Awards this week is just about the industry’s worst kept secret. Last year we got a brand new trailer, and Hideo Kojima’s cosy relationship with Game Awards host Geoff Keighley is well-trodden ground.

Just to fan the flames of excitement a little further, Geoff Keighley has confirmed via Twitter that both Metal Gear Solid creator Hideo Kojima and movie director Guillermo Del Toro will be in attendance. This pair are both working on Death Stranding, with Del Toro actually featuring in the Death Stranding trailer that was revealed during PSX 2016.

Death Stranding has been missing in action since then, skipping over E3, Paris Games Week and Tokyo Game Show. Heading into 2018, The Game Awards seems like the perfect time to peel back the covers a little more. Who knows, we may even find out what the heck sort of game it even is.

As for when Death Stranding is even coming out, 2018 seems like a long shot. We’re expecting to see it launch during 2019 at the earliest considering development only began two years ago. We’d love to be surprised, but Kojima’s famed ambition no doubt means this has got a while in the oven yet.

The Game Awards are due to take place this Thursday, December 7th and 17:30 PT / December 8th 01:30 GMT / 02:30 CET.