Destiny 2
Have your say

User Review

7.33
8.6

The future of Destiny 2 is set to be revealed this coming Tuesday, June 5th. Bungie will be hosting a live reveal showcasing Destiny - Year 2, including what will probably be a large-scale expansion pack due to launch this September.

If ever there a service game in dire need of content, Destiny 2 is probably it. The last two expansions have been absolutely pitiful, and haven’t really done much to tempt in new players nor bring base game owners back to the fold.

"We have some big ideas for how we’re going to transform your Guardian lifestyle and reinforce your hobby as an interplanetary hero," says community manager David 'Deej' Dague. "We’ll respond to a bunch of community feedback and unveil some other things you haven’t even been looking forward to... yet. We’ll top it all off with a look at a new Roadmap with exciting new promises for everyone."

The event on June 5th will be hosted by game director Steve Cotton and project lead Scott Taylor. They’ll be hosting it live on Twitch from 9am PT / 12pm ET / 5pm BST this coming Tuesday.

Whatever happens, Bungie needs to pull a rabbit out of the hat if it wants Destiny 2 to continue in any meaningful way. Anecdotally, it feels as if the gaming zeitgeist has moved on from what ultimately an unfulfilling loot shooter, at least when playing it long-term.

Bungie managed to turn it around with the original Destiny, can it do it all over again with Destiny 2? Or is there only so many times they can pull the wool over a fanbase’s eyes?