Those of you licking your lips in anticipation of Bethesda’s E3 2019 press conference would probably do well to quell your expectations. Despite officially revealing The Elder Scrolls VI and Starfield at E3 2018, Todd Howard, executive producer at Bethesda Game Studios, has claimed both games will be absent from E3 this year.

Speaking during a PAX East panel, Howard said “It's going to be a long time [until we talk about TES VI and Starfield]. It's not something we're going to be talking about at E3, either of those games this year.”

There’s the off-chance that Howard is pulling the wool over our eyes, of course, the old ‘double bluff’ technique before shocking us all with a Starfield shadow drop. But, well, it seems far likelier he’s just being honest.

Last year it was very apparent Bethesda had revealed Starfield and, in particular, The Elder Scrolls VI, long, long before they were going to be ready for a proper showcase. The impression given off was that TESVI had barely even started development, and considering reports of a major engine overhaul it’s the sort of thing that’s going to be thrown together anytime soon. Expect a big wait for The Elder Scrolls VI, particularly since Starfield should be arriving first.

On the subject of Starfield, this feels like the game we should’ve been hearing about at E3 this year. Bethesda dropped a dud with Fallout 76 and it would be nice to see something getting them back on track. As it stands, Doom Eternal has a lot of heavy lifting to do.

Bethesda’s E3 2019 press conference takes place on Sunday, June 9th, at 5:30pm PT, 8:30pm ET, and Monday, June 10th, at 1:30am BST, 2:30am CET.