Some additional details have leaked out about Marvel’s Avengers, the upcoming Marvel game which is due to be fully unveiled during Square Enix’s E3 live showcase.

The schedule lists for the E3 Coliseum has confirmed Marvel’s Avengers gameplay details, revealing it’s an action-adventure game with cinematic storytelling. Avengers will be playable in both single-player or co-operatively with up to four other players, offering up continuous content updates and new storylines to work through.

It sounds as if players will be able to build their own superheroes, customising their superpowers in order to fit their particular playstyle. Co-op content will then be geared towards teams of heroes combining their powers in order to “defend an ever-expanding world under constant threat”.

The full showcase listing says "Embrace your powers and join key members of the development team at Crystal Dynamics and the creative team at Marvel Games as they talk exclusively about the upcoming Marvel’s Avengers. This is the defining Avengers gaming experience: an epic action-adventure that combines cinematic storytelling with continuous single-player and co-operative gameplay. Moderated by Andrea Rene, assemble in teams up to four players, master extraordinary abilities, customize your heroes to fit your playstyle, and combine powers to defend an ever-expanding world under constant threat."

Now, it’s probably a little reductive to say this when we still know so little of what Marvel’s Avengers actually is, but it sounds like an almost verbatim description of BioWare’s Anthem. It’s sci-fi, super-powered, co-op, PvE Games-as-a-Service, albeit in the capable hands of Crystal Dynamics and Eidos Montreal. The knives will automatically be out for this one, so let's hope it doesn't make some all-too-familiar slip-ups.

Square Enix’s E3 2019 live showcase takes place 6pm PT / 9pm ET / June 11th 2am BST / 3am CET