PlayStation Showcase revealed for next week, includes updates on upcoming games

Written by Chad Norton on Thu, Sep 2, 2021 4:30 PM

A week from today, Sony will be holding another PlayStation Showcase event after fans have been waiting for so long. Unfortunately, it sounds like the event won’t include any new game reveals (though it’s definitely not off the cards), but will include updates for upcoming games launching in Holiday 2021 and further.

The PlayStation Showcase will start on September 9th at 1pm PT (4pm ET / 9pm BST) on YouTube and Twitch, and will last for 40 minutes in total. However, a post-show will include more information from the games shown during the showcase. Likely candidates include Horizon Forbidden West andDeathloop. If we’re lucky, maybe a look a reveal of the new God of War too?

Tune in next Thursday, September 9 at 1:00pm Pacific Time / 9:00pm BST / 10:00pm CEST for a look into the future of PS5,” said Sony in a recent blog post. 

The Showcase will weigh in at around 40 minutes and include updates from PlayStation Studios and some of the industry’s most imaginative developers, for games releasing this holiday and beyond. And stick around after the presentation to get more updates from some of the studio teams featured in the Showcase.

The timing of it is awfully close to the reported Uncharted PC Collection announcement date, which was supposedly leaked online the other day. If Sony is holding a PlayStation Showcase in the same week, maybe that leak seems a little more credible. Either that, or Sony could be making the announcement during the showcase instead.

What do you think? Will you be watching the PlayStation Showcase next week? What would you like to see there? Do you think they’ll announce anything new? Or save that for a later date instead? Let us know your thoughts!

Will you tune in to watch the PlayStation Showcase?

Login or Register to join the debate

Rep
12
Offline
14:42 Sep-03-2021

The fact that Sony won't do a free upgrade from the PS4 to the PS5 version is just outrageous. If you buy the standard edition on PS4, you will have to buy the game again to play it on PS5.

0
Rep
0
Offline
22:15 Sep-04-2021

Damn straight....one of the biggest reasons PC gaming rules. Upgrading hardware lets us play older games cranked up to max with higher resolutions and even mods.

0
Rep
58
Offline
13:56 Sep-03-2021

Looking at both physical copies of those collectors editions they included everything but a physical disc. I learned my lesson a long time ago to NEVER buy digital on consoles because Sony are well known for banning accounts and locking digital licenses for no reason.

0

Can They Run... |

| 60FPS, Medium, 720p
Athlon II X2 245 GeForce GTS 250 4GB
| 60FPS, High, 1080p
Ryzen 5 3500U 4-Core 2.1 GHz Radeon RX Vega 8 8GB